Five Things I’ve Learnt Since I Joined the Gym

By Louise Burt

1) I hate every single song I put on my playlist (called Burn Baby Burn). Sure, sitting in the comfort of my room I thought “yeah, I would totally love to run to this song, yep, this is most definitely going to motivate me” and when your iPod is strapped to your arm in a case, there’s nothing you can do about it, but carry on pounding the treadmill in the most elephant like way, listening to quite possibly the worst music you could ever put together in a playlist. Clearly the reasoning of “I love dancing to this song on a night out, so of course I’m going to love it in this completely different environment” was not effective.

2) When the two machines that you use the most both face the same yellow wall, you will spend your evenings staring intently at the flaking paint and weird stains; as if it were some valued and precious piece of artwork, trying to uncover some hidden mystery. The intense analysis of looking at a wall, shows the extremes I go to try and distract myself from the weird sounds I’m making (aka breathing.

3) There seems to be a secret and silent code of respect and curiosity as to what others are doing in the gym. A quick sideways glance to the left and I can subtly watch how someone else is using the weights (as I’ve totally forgotten everything I was told during my initiation as I may or may not have been distracted by the guy showing me around) Also, the reassurance that someone else is looking rather tomato-ey is always a welcomed boost.

4) My gym buddy, who happens to be one of my best friends, has now not only signed up for a gym membership, but a lifelong contract to be in my life forever. As anyone who has seen me red faced, greasy haired, with sweat dripping into my eyes is someone who I am never going to let escape from my grasp. The fact that we end every gym session with a hug (whilst apologizing for the combination of our sweat and smell) I’ve learnt that she has seen me as I’ve never wanted anyone to see me, yet she still wants to be friends with me. Crazy.

 5) It’s never fun seeing someone you know.

Despite all this, I feel so much better for actually leaving the house, as the student stereotype of lazing around in bed all day fits me a bit to well. However, when you come home and eat half a tub of Ben & Jerry’s Carmel Chew Chew it kind of defeats the object of actually going to the gym.

Leave a comment